EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Scanning does not start  (Read 7761 times)

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Scanning does not start
« on: 28 September 2016, 15:20 »

Until last month CMP worked fine for years, but today when I tried to check my ROMs for the new release, it hangs at 0% at "Scanning Files" (everything else seems to work).

Maybe it's due to the fact that I updated last week macOS to version 10.12 (I'm using CMP using Wine 1.8 under macOS), or the new MAME release is to blame.

Anybody else experiencing any problems?
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #1 on: 28 September 2016, 15:27 »

maybe a prompt is shown and that prompt is hidden behind other windows....
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #2 on: 28 September 2016, 15:55 »

I already checked that. No such prompt.
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #3 on: 28 September 2016, 16:12 »

I'm starting to think that the problem is due to macOS or WINE (or a combination thereof) as I just found out that I can't click on the "Cancel" button either. CMP hangs and I have to force restart it to regain control.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #4 on: 28 September 2016, 17:50 »

did you try the cmpro.ini entry

[CMPRO SETTINGS]
Adv_HideWindow = off

(quit cmpro, edit the file, search the section, set it from on to off, restart cmpro).

not that it's anyhow connected but maybe worth a try....

same for a clean install of cmpro...


....and you can disable all fix options and turn off "ask before fixing"...then you lower the chance that prompts are shown.
« Last Edit: 28 September 2016, 18:04 by Roman »
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #5 on: 28 September 2016, 18:40 »

Setting Adv_HideWindow to off had no effect, as did disabling all fix options and turning off asking before fixing.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #6 on: 28 September 2016, 18:47 »

So your unchanged cmpro installation worked before the OS update..hmm......any update for wine available?
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #7 on: 28 September 2016, 18:51 »

Sadly no. I'm stuck with a rather old 1.8 version on macOS, although 1.9 is already available for other platforms.

I will either patiently wait for an update of Wine, or try CrossOver in the meantime (but that one's commercial).

Thanks for your help as usual, Roman.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #8 on: 28 September 2016, 18:53 »

can you make a screenshot from the cmpro windows....so I might get an idea where it hangs
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #9 on: 28 September 2016, 19:46 »

Here you go:

« Last Edit: 28 September 2016, 19:47 by Carbon »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #10 on: 28 September 2016, 19:54 »

hmm...ok...so you don't see anything like the typical
"Creating hash tables"
"Testing unneeded"
which appear after pressing "new scan" but before the single sets are actually scanned?


and the setinformation button is not shown at all (should be at bottom of the scan results tree window)...weeird
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #11 on: 28 September 2016, 19:59 »

In fact, I can see "Creating Hash Tables" (runs fine from 0 to 100 %), but then it stops.

So no "Testing unneeded" and nothing else either, of course.
Logged

MAMEBase

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #12 on: 28 September 2016, 20:11 »

Hi, just thought I'd chime in here, as I'm having the same problem as Carbon.

If it helps at all, the Rebuilder appears to work (It updated my collection using a 0.177 to 0.178 update set), but afterwords, switching back to the scanner yielded the same result ('Creating Hash Tables' had already occurred during the use of the Rebuilder, so then pressing 'New Scan' caused an immediate lockup - The scan will not begin, and the animation of the chips and magnifying glass does not move.)
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #13 on: 28 September 2016, 20:15 »

So the same version of cmpro worked before? And you updated your OS?

Can you test MAME .177 again?
just in case...MAME .178 added some new systems.
Go to "Systems" and check if there are unassigned paths. If all are not assigned, fine. If some are and some are not, then please assign the missing ones.
Cmpro will show a prompt in case it finds missing entries and that prompt *could* be the reason why it hangs.


Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #14 on: 28 September 2016, 20:18 »

Hi MAMEBase :)

Interesting, so it is definitely not due to something funky in my setup, and as I noticed that you are on 10.12, too, it seems it is somehow due to an incompatibility between Sierra and Wine.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #15 on: 28 September 2016, 20:20 »

Interesting would be:

- does the system -> assign paths (either all or none) work for you
- does the old MAME version work for you
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #16 on: 28 September 2016, 20:23 »

I did not have any undefined paths, but just to make sure I removed them all and re-added them. Made no difference.

There's one thing different for me compared to MAMEBase, though: my "chips and magnifying glass" icon is animated.
Logged

MAMEBase

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #17 on: 28 September 2016, 20:25 »

That may be due to one variable I neglected to mention...

I'm running Wine 1.6.1 (which has worked fine for me up until today)
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 80
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2702
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #18 on: 28 September 2016, 20:27 »

"up until today" sounds like "I haven't changed my system BUT I've updated MAME to .178".

So....any chance to step back to .177 and check if scan starts (you can turn off fix options and stop scanning if it runs).
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #19 on: 28 September 2016, 20:30 »

I restored MAME 0.177 from backup and tried with that one: still no luck.

Besides updating to MAME 0.178, both MAMEBase and I (if I can believe the sidebar below a user's name) have updated macOS from 10.11 (El Capitan) to 10.12 (Sierra).

So that could contribute also to the problem we are experiencing.
« Last Edit: 28 September 2016, 20:32 by Carbon »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.23 seconds with 21 queries.

anything