EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Scanning does not start  (Read 10645 times)

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #40 on: 29 September 2016, 14:52 »

This all there is in the log file:

Code: [Select]
Before BuildHashes
After BuildHashes
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #41 on: 29 September 2016, 15:01 »

wow..that's erm....not much ;-)
actually the next log entry would follow 2 lines later....so it gives me a first idea where it hangs (for whatever reason)... thanks...stay tuned for more
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #42 on: 29 September 2016, 15:10 »

Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #43 on: 29 September 2016, 15:20 »

Too big to quote inline now, so here's the complete log file:

Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #44 on: 29 September 2016, 15:35 »

thanks....so it hangs during a directory tree walk after file sc4milja.zip (I'm pretty sure you got also sets from sc4* to z* in that folder....but it doesn't reach that for whatever reason.

I will try to rewrite that routine a bit later today
Logged

MAMEBase

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #45 on: 29 September 2016, 15:51 »

For what it's worth, I just tried the cmpro_log_new.exe, and my result was very similar (I got as far as sc4himig.zip).

The only difference I could see is that I keep all my ROMs, LDs and CHDs in a single directory, if that makes any difference.

Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #46 on: 29 September 2016, 16:01 »

first of all, thanks to both of you....

well... the routine runs through all rompaths and more-or-less lists the files in there (to get an idea what your fav packer type is)...so there's nothing in that treewalk look but
- get the filename, - get the file extension, - count the type
...the one with the highest count wins (e.g. .zip)....

For both of you it seems to freeze somewhere near 26000 files...no typical number for something like a type overflow or something.

As I said...I will try to change that one routine to see if it makes any difference...but it's still weird
Logged

MAMEBase

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #47 on: 29 September 2016, 16:10 »

In the meantime, if there are any other paces we can put cmpro_log_new.exe through that might shed any additional light on this problem, pease let us know... :D
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #48 on: 29 September 2016, 16:57 »

http://mamedev.emulab.it/clrmamepro/binaries/cmpro_log_type.rar

ok..changed the routine a bit with some more type safetiness...
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #49 on: 29 September 2016, 17:53 »

New result: my LD (laser disks) and CHDs folder are now scanned, but hang occurs at same file.
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #50 on: 29 September 2016, 18:04 »

Oh, and I just checked, sc4milja is the 25'963th file in my ROMs folder. Along with 671 files in the CHD folder and 8 files in the LD folder, this makes it the 26'642th file examined (this is without counting the subfolders inside the CHD and LD folder). So nothing obvious there.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #51 on: 29 September 2016, 18:20 »

and now with a 1000 files limit counter...

http://mamedev.emulab.it/clrmamepro/binaries/cmpro_log_limit.rar

(beware that the exe files are named differently....so don't run an old exe by mistake ;-))
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #52 on: 29 September 2016, 18:27 »

I think there is progress: CMP still stops at sc4milja, but now I see all the file names in "Testing Unneeded" being tested (before there was no output at all) and there are additional lines at the end of the log file.

Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #53 on: 29 September 2016, 18:45 »

well....the unneeded scan makes a directory walk, too....

so if it freezes now there we're back where we started...a problem when a directory walk reaches a special limit.

Nothing really has changed in such routines for years....so I somehow really think it's a bug in WINE.
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #54 on: 29 September 2016, 20:14 »

FWIW, I just tried CrossOver (commercial version of WINE), that's much more recent as the current release of WINE (dates from September 20th), and it exhibits the same behaviour. :(
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #55 on: 29 September 2016, 20:51 »

just wondering...where are thte rom sets stored? on a (samba) network drive?
Maybe something special with the file it hit? Something locking the access?

It's still weird. MAMEBase mentioned that the rebuilder worked for him...and the rebuilder also uses a common directory tree walk.

Since it's not WINE...maybe it's the OS? What I can do is to setup a small Ubuntu setup with WINE to see if behaves the same...sorry no Mac OS available here.


Another idea would be to split up the rompaths...what happens if you split the one rompath with >20000 sets in 2 with ~10000 sets?
« Last Edit: 29 September 2016, 21:10 by Roman »
Logged

MAMEBase

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #56 on: 30 September 2016, 02:29 »

(Just back from work)

So I tried the latest cmpro_log_limit.exe, and told it to scan only sets, and check only for missing sets.

Like Carbon, I got further than before, but still locks during checking for unknown sets,

Log file enclosed.

I'm considering making a temporary ROM Directory with about 500 sets included, and see if that makes a difference.
Logged

MAMEBase

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #57 on: 30 September 2016, 05:25 »

Okay, so here's some progress (I think... :-\ )

I tried making a new directory (ROMS Temp) that started off with the first 1,500 sets...

I was able to run a scan to the end (Having checked only the 'Sets' and 'Missing')

Upon completion, the expected results widow comes up, but is empty, and when attempting to redo the scan, all checkboxes are extremely slow to respond (I thought it had locked up again, but it appears that all processes are taking a minute or so to respond to mouse clicks)

I was eventually able to start a second scan (with all options enabled). The statistics window still comes up blank upon completion, but at least the scan went to 100%.

I'll have to do more testing tomorrow, once I get home from work, adding more files to see if there's some 'magic number' that causes the lockup, but in the meantime, I'd count this as progress!  :D
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 96
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2935
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #58 on: 30 September 2016, 06:35 »

ok...let's sum up the things.

- all was good before updating your Mac OS
- Wine and Crossover show the following problems now:
  - a directory tree walk seems to freeze when a folder holds something around 25000 files
  - if using rompaths with less files, the scan runs but the stats window is empty? (screenshot please) And some background process seems to be still running.

Well, currently from what I read I'd blame the OS update :-(

Intersting to know would be: Where are the files stored (network drive, etc..etc..) and where is cmpro stored. Do such folders need additional access rights, etc etc...
« Last Edit: 30 September 2016, 06:39 by Roman »
Logged

Carbon

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.12 Mac OS X 10.12
  • Browser:
  • Safari 10.0 Safari 10.0
    • View Profile
Re: Scanning does not start
« Reply #59 on: 30 September 2016, 14:15 »

Here are some additional observations:

- all my files and CMP are on local disks (in fact on the internal disk drive), no special permissions or anything applied
- I'm currently running CMP under full virtualisation (VMware): no problem here, it is at the stage of checking the ROMs (although it is extremely slow, after 10 minutes still at the letter 'a', hence why I prefer to use Wine, which is much faster)

I think we can conclude with some confidence that a change in macOS 10.12 triggered something in Wine.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.09 seconds with 20 queries.

anything