EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Many "misplaced romset: (move to a rompath)" on latest nightly 20200904  (Read 241 times)

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.83 Chrome 85.0.4183.83
    • View Profile

I get many "misplaced romset: (move to a rompath)" errors when scanning romset on MAME with latest nightly build (20200904). With stable version I don't get errors.
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 88
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2801
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.83 Chrome 85.0.4183.83
    • View Profile

Like? Some more details please.
What are you scanning? What are the exact messages...Did you use a previous nightly and you had no problems?
There is only one possibly related change in the nightly (and that's in the nightly since over a month already) and that's

fixed: some sets don't get marked as unneeded or weird renames are proposed in mame/software list combined mode only

...which may list some files which was not visible before..


So....more details please ;-)

I bet you're using the combined software list mode and the reported ones are actually the ones which were overseen before....so would be interesting to see the datails. and yes...the message "move to a rompath" might be a bit misleading...will change that as soon as I got some time
« Last Edit: 08 September 2020, 11:52 by Roman »
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.83 Chrome 85.0.4183.83
    • View Profile

Just ended to scan my romset with stable version with no problems.
I use full software list mode, not combined. If I rebuild the software list with rebuilder it will add the romsets highlighted with the error.
It refers to many romsets inside "electron_cass" software list, one romset inside "g7400" software list and one inside "ibm5150" softwarelist.

This is a partial list of the highlighted sets inside "electron_cass":
9cardbd1.7z
9cardbd2.7z
abgensnr.7z
abyss.7z
advcreat.7z
artstudi.7z
aufwiede.7z
axeofkol.7z
battlefi.7z
bridgema.7z
...
...
...

skyhawk.7z
specops.7z
spoker2p.7z
sporttri.7z
starques.7z
survivrs.7z
terrormo.7z
tetris.7z
theboss.7z
thequill.7z
topstail.7z
triple7.7z
turfform.7z
vegasjac.7z
weetabix.7z
wychwood.7z
xanagram.7z

I use merged romsets compressed with 7zip. Thank you for support and for the great work.
« Last Edit: 08 September 2020, 12:39 by GDT »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 88
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2801
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.83 Chrome 85.0.4183.83
    • View Profile

But as you can check by looking at MAME's hash folder, the electron_cass does not have such sets listed. They belonge to "electron_flop" (and others)

So...they don't belong there and cmpro is right :)

and I think your "full software list mode" is my "combined mode", i.e. you have only one profile for MAME and all/subset of its software lists and not one profile per softwarelist, am I right?
« Last Edit: 08 September 2020, 16:08 by Roman »
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.102 Chrome 85.0.4183.102
    • View Profile

and I think your "full software list mode" is my "combined mode", i.e. you have only one profile for MAME and all/subset of its software lists and not one profile per softwarelist, am I right?

You're right: one profile and multiple rom paths setted in.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 88
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2801
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.83 Chrome 85.0.4183.83
    • View Profile

Yeah and in that mode earlier cmpro versions did oversee some misplaced sets which is now fixed.
Guess I need to improve the failure message a bit.
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.102 Chrome 85.0.4183.102
    • View Profile

Ok thanks, I just rescanned with nightly and deleted the highlighted files from the romsets. Scanned ended without errors but I noticed that there are some roms inside romsets that still will be manteined and doesn't give any warning.
For example, I get warning aboute "triple7" romset inside electron_cass software list, but got no warning for triple1, triple2 etc... which are included (wrongly) inside the romset (only triple8 is in the right place, the others need to stay inside bbc_cass software list). So I suppose that there are still some sets which is not recognized as wrong.
« Last Edit: 09 September 2020, 07:49 by GDT »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 88
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2801
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.102 Chrome 85.0.4183.102
    • View Profile

yes, I'm aware of that (thanks anyway) and working on it
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.102 Chrome 85.0.4183.102
    • View Profile

Thank you for your hard work.

If it can help I found another software list which is wrongly intrepeted: some "pippin" chds are marked as in wrong rompath but they are in the right place:

misplaced romset: \pippin\aishogi (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\catalog (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\chisatom (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\circus (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\compton (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\gadget (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\lzone (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\music1 (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\sdgundam (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\shockwav (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\supermar (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\tamagotc (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\thomas (move to a rompath)
misplaced romset: \pippin\ultraman (move to a rompath)
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 88
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2801
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.102 Chrome 85.0.4183.102
    • View Profile

https://mamedev.emulab.it/clrmamepro/binaries/cmpro20200909.7z

That should detect things like triple1 etc plus there was a problem with parent/clonerelationships in software list roms/chds in combined mode.
I wasn't able to repeat your pippin messages. Let me know if you still experience them.

....and I will try to make the "(move to a rompath)" more informative or fixable as soon as I find a little time
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.102 Chrome 85.0.4183.102
    • View Profile

I just tested the new build and it deleted many roms inside romsets, mainly neogeo roms, for almost a gigabyte of data. No more pippin romset issue, too.

Thank you!
« Last Edit: 09 September 2020, 22:22 by GDT »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 88
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2801
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 85.0.4183.102 Chrome 85.0.4183.102
    • View Profile

I bet these were the ones related to the parent/clone merge bug which was fixed. In combined mode it did detect parent/clone relationships between sets though but the actual parent files in the clone sets weren't marked as belonging to the parent...so you had the dupes in there which now got removed.
« Last Edit: 10 September 2020, 06:03 by Roman »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.099 seconds with 20 queries.

anything