EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)  (Read 303 times)

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0.2 Safari 12.0.2
    • View Profile

I'm trying to use Clrmamepro on OSX High Sierra. I have downloaded and tried both the newest and second newest versions from this site (https://www.emulab.it). When I start the app I don't have any windows and no options to do anything. I created (with Nano) and added the clrpro.ini file as suggested with the "[CMPRO SETTINGS] Adv_HideWindow = off" string but the same problem persists. Any suggestions? Thank you.
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98 Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #1 on: 23 January 2019, 09:01 »

Hmmm....actually the Adv_HideWindow = off should work, but maybe the positions are weird, look out for "Win_*" entries holding the x/y or top/left positions ...if they look suspicious like -12312321 or something try to set them to 10 / 10 or something.... for example for Win_MainDlgX, Win_MainDlgY

I will double check the code later at home if it does anything weird....
Logged

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0.2 Safari 12.0.2
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #2 on: 23 January 2019, 15:41 »

Thanks for the reply. The app hasn't added anything to the .ini. It's just like I created it, with the two lines. Also the app doesn't quit without forcing so something is definitely wrong. Of course it might be my setup too, I'm on a pretty much default High Sierra. Any ideas?
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98 Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #3 on: 23 January 2019, 15:49 »

sounds like it exists pretty early...e.g. because it doesn't find dlls or something....will check that...
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98 Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #4 on: 23 January 2019, 18:40 »

just for a quick test, try the XP compiled version
https://mamedev.emulab.it/clrmamepro/binaries/cmproXP.rar
(that's just a different exe file)

....and is there something in OSX (e.g. a task manager) where you can see if the application is actually running (but not showing anything) ...then we would be sure that it does not simply exit early due to whatever reason
« Last Edit: 23 January 2019, 18:51 by Roman »
Logged

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0.2 Safari 12.0.2
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #5 on: 25 January 2019, 06:32 »

When double clicking the app it almost instantly switches back to the finder. The app stays in the dock, I can switch back to the app by clicking it in the dock and I can access the menus but I can't quit, it doesn't do anything. The process is visible in the ActivityMonitor and in the ForceQuit app but not listed as unresponsive. I'm not very good with these things but something is wrong because it immediately switches back to the Finder. I don't know how to check the status of the app other than this. It seems it's running, it's not completely frozen because I can access the menus but it is unresponsive since I can't even quit.
Logged

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0.2 Safari 12.0.2
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #6 on: 25 January 2019, 06:39 »

I'm not sure what you mean by trying the XP version but what I did was I replaced the .exe file in the v4034 package with the XP .exe that you linked. The exact same thing happened as described above.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98 Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #7 on: 25 January 2019, 07:56 »

Ok thanks for testing.....the Windows XP version uses older compiler settings and some things are excluded since Windows XP doesn't support it...so just a test if maybe an older exe type would work...but it's not...

ok...so the application seems to be running but hides itself for whatever reason....guess I really have to do some coding / testing ;-)
wonder if I can setup an OSX High Sierra environment somewhere....

I will check this on the weekend
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98 Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #8 on: 26 January 2019, 18:41 »

by the way, what do you use to run it? Crossover? Wine? Bootcamp? any virtualization etc?
Logged

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0 Safari 12.0
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #9 on: 27 January 2019, 20:18 »

Ok, we might have found the problem. I don’t have Crossover or Wine etc. I thought the Wineskin wrapper was a standalone package.. If I understood this wrong I’m very sorry to have wasted your time. What should I do next to move forward? Kind regards.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98 Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #10 on: 28 January 2019, 08:17 »

Next steps forward: I will check Wineskin...(which uses Wine) and will see what happens ;-)
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98 Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #11 on: 28 January 2019, 18:51 »

So I've tried Wineskin, added a new engine (wineskin 2.6.2), created a blank wrapper added the cmpro executable (from the decompressed zip package) and hit the "Test Run" button and it actually starts up, shows the initial message box where it describes the first next steps and after that it will show the profiler window....

I've used this http://wineskin.urgesoftware.com/tiki-index.php?page=Manual+6.1+Wrapper+for+Wine+Notepad as a guideline

So....actually this should work....let me know if these steps work for you...
Logged

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0.2 Safari 12.0.2
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #12 on: 08 February 2019, 09:05 »

So....actually this should work....let me know if these steps work for you...

Thank you. I'm following the instructions but I'm not sure what do at step 12. The notepad.exe in the example in the instructions is already inside the newly created Wineskin package. If i try to select the cmpro.exe in step 12 in the Finder it just loops back to the "drive_c" folder inside the wrapper. I tried to add the .exe, and also the whole folder containing the .exe and all the other files, to the new Wineskin package while in the Finder and then go to step 12. This gets me out of the loop to the drive_c folder but I just get a similar situation to when I start the app as I first described this whole problem in my first post, no window. Lastly, I checked and added the "Adv_HideWindow = off" in the clrpro.ini file in the new package but still no window and needs to force quit. If you think I have done the steps correctly then I don't know whats wrong.. Could you create a download link for the package you created, so I can test?
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.96 Chrome 72.0.3626.96
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #13 on: 08 February 2019, 09:14 »

Yeah...if you follow that link word by word you end in that endless loop...that's why I simply specified the path manually and did not use the browse buttons and I got it work then....and then cmpro worked flawlessly.

Your problem is getting wine/wineskin to run on your mac...not getting cmpro to run with it...so changing cmpro.ini is way too early.

Maybe you should try crossover or pure wine or find other wineskin tutorials...
Logged

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6 Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0.2 Safari 12.0.2
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #14 on: 08 February 2019, 10:30 »

that's why I simply specified the path manually and did not use the browse buttons and I got it work then....and then cmpro worked flawlessly.

Thank you for bearing with me. Just to make sure, did it sound like I made the new package correctly, as I wrote in my previous message? If not could you specify the process of adding the files to the package? Which file or files should be added to what location in the package?
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 74
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2538
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.96 Chrome 72.0.3626.96
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #15 on: 08 February 2019, 12:17 »

Actually, I have no idea ;-)
Never worked with wineskin before and so I just followed the steps...and yes...I ended in the same endless loop and after the 8th try I simply pasted the full path to the exe and I had the "TEST" button to run cmpro...and there...it started as expected.
Since I'm a windows user I'm not so familar with MacOS in combination with wineskin.....Setting up wine under linux is ok and pretty easy but wineskin gives me the creeps.......so maybe CrossOver is easier to use...don't know actually since I did not try it.
Logged

m2306

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 12.0 Safari 12.0
    • View Profile
Re: Help with using Clrmamepro on OSX (No window on app startup)
« Reply #16 on: 08 February 2019, 13:53 »

Ok. Thank you for your time. If I find a solution to the problem I will post here.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.114 seconds with 22 queries.