EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading  (Read 5090 times)

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« on: 12 June 2015, 07:03 »

with the last ClrMAME Pro version 4.020 (previous version work fine) i have this error in no-intro p/clone nintendo64 dat

Code: [Select]
Set: 007 - GoldenEye (Europe)
Name: 007 - GoldenEye (USA)

Issue: Double name

Name will be changed to: '007 - GoldenEye (USA)_0'!

this is the the dat and i don't see any error

Code: [Select]
<game name="007 - GoldenEye (Europe)">
<description>007 - GoldenEye (Europe)</description>
<release name="007 - GoldenEye (Europe)" region="EUR"/>
<rom name="007 - GoldenEye (Europe).n64" size="12582912" crc="7425AE2D" md5="B477CFB12BB946E522B496AF87ADB220" sha1="63627DBA22BE2B357C0E370E68DC5AF56EEB0A24" status="verified"/>
</game>
<game name="007 - GoldenEye (Japan)" cloneof="007 - GoldenEye (Europe)">
<description>007 - GoldenEye (Japan)</description>
<release name="007 - GoldenEye (Japan)" region="JPN"/>
<rom name="007 - GoldenEye (Japan).n64" size="12582912" crc="C26FED78" md5="369BF90B44B050EF74B4759E29D85EE7" sha1="451B41B63D75677BD42DB89A56679208808FCFD0" status="verified"/>
</game>
<game name="007 - GoldenEye (USA)" cloneof="007 - GoldenEye (Europe)">
<description>007 - GoldenEye (USA)</description>
<release name="007 - GoldenEye (USA)" region="USA"/>
<rom name="007 - GoldenEye (USA).n64" size="12582912" crc="8B70CB5B" md5="2A56A06A05A9DBF9E693325B503AB5B1" sha1="7DD376E996D77D108316AC7CED087125C5674FA4"/>
</game>

i think i have someting to do with this

Quote
4.020

   fixed: game name check might produce a wrong warning for full merged chd sets where the parent does not have chds
« Last Edit: 12 June 2015, 07:04 by pucci »
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 8.0 Safari 8.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #1 on: 12 June 2015, 11:38 »

cmpro is most likely correct. your dat is using release elements which are used for naming. and I bet there is another set of 007 which uses the same release name but is not in a parent clone relationship....so it ends up with a double name...

so the 007 sets should theoretically share a parent clone relationship which is probably missing in the dat...

you can send me the dat and I will have a look after my holiday....
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #2 on: 13 June 2015, 20:48 »

hmm...I grabbed the latest dat from no-intro (Nintendo - Nintendo 64 (20150602-170855_CM)) and it works fine when loading.....
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #3 on: 14 June 2015, 14:14 »

the problem is with the P/Clone XML dat (see attach to this post)
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #4 on: 14 June 2015, 14:27 »

additional info:
- problem is only present if i select "Regions" in ClrMAME Pro "Settings" page
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #5 on: 14 June 2015, 18:54 »

thanks for the dat....hmm...loading it does not cause any issues here...what settings for regions do you use? 1G1R mode enabled or not?
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #6 on: 15 June 2015, 06:27 »

thanks for the dat....hmm...loading it does not cause any issues here...what settings for regions do you use? 1G1R mode enabled or not?

see attached image of Settings page

NO 1G1R mode enabled
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #7 on: 15 June 2015, 06:56 »

Hmmm....

I loaded the dat as a new profile....went to settings, regions, enabled all, switched back to profiler, clean the cache, loaded the profile again...no warning, no prompt...works fine...

so I turned on "full merge mode" and (due to some internal restructuring of the database) it shows some double name issue but none of them are 007 related....however I will check them....


so maybe you can give me a step by step instruction...or try a new profile.....or send me your cmpro.ini plus the belonging .cmp file to your dat from cmpro's settings folder
« Last Edit: 15 June 2015, 07:05 by Roman »
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #8 on: 15 June 2015, 07:43 »

double name issue change according to the order of regions
my steps
- Reset Profile in Profiler
- load the dat with default.cmp
- set Merged Sets in Scanner
- Select All Regions in Settings
- set Regions Order like this: USA, EUR, JAP, ITA, GER, FRA, SPA, AUS, BRA
--> first Double Name error is on "007 - GoldenEye"

attached my cmpro.ini, and nintendo64.cmp
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #9 on: 15 June 2015, 09:10 »

for me it shows

Set:   Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan)
Name:   Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan)

Issue:   Double name

Name will be changed to: 'Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan)_0'!


and no 007.....(but why the heck are you using "default.cmp" ???? ...most likely you got a different one than mine...)

but regardless of the fact that it shows a different set for me....I will investigate the double naming for Baku Bomber Man2, too....so most likely finding the cause for that one will also fit for your 007 one....
« Last Edit: 15 June 2015, 09:11 by Roman »
Logged

oddi

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 39.0 Firefox 39.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #10 on: 15 June 2015, 17:17 »

Hi, sorry for post in this thread , but Roman we have problem with the last mame dat and "double descriptions"
see:


here upload full mame dat:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/jywoya

tnx :)
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #11 on: 15 June 2015, 18:23 »

Oddi, well yes...as you can clearly see in your datfile, the description <description>PC FDC SUPERIO</description> is used multiple times. Sorry cmpro is correct here.


Now back to the real problem:

Pucci, well...welcome to the beautiful world of RELEASE elements. There is a scoring algorithm (by logiqx) which decides which release element is used for the final game name....Let's take the example:

   <game name="Bomberman 64 - The Second Attack! (USA)">
      <description>Bomberman 64 - The Second Attack! (USA)</description>
      <release name="Bomberman 64 - The Second Attack! (USA)" region="USA"/>
      <rom name="Bomberman 64 - The Second Attack! (USA).n64" size="16777216" crc="302B3135" md5="CB7F9FAD147F0ADB63A79EDC57237219" sha1="5C2C59506AA4DFD83CE80E9E5E377F64F4F18C58"/>
   </game>
   <game name="Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan)" cloneof="Bomberman 64 - The Second Attack! (USA)">
      <description>Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan)</description>
      <release name="Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan)" region="JPN"/>
      <rom name="Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan).n64" size="16777216" crc="850675CC" md5="89C5450B3286CE62A6D93FEA74633848" sha1="C6188F3217E28CF820040B6FB1F57DB655995B38" status="verified"/>
   </game>

If you got all regions enabled, it will create a game name "Baku Bomber Man 2 (Japan)" for both sets (maybe a flaw in the algorithm when no language information is provided, but that should be addressed to Logiqx if he is still around)....so you end up with 2 sets with identical names based on this...and cmpro moans about it....

So the solution for you is for now: don't use all regions (or turn on 1G1R mode so only one set will survive)....I try to get Mike on the line to double check
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #12 on: 17 June 2015, 22:41 »

no luck in reaching Mike (Logiqx) yet...

well...looked again at the algorithm.....if regions are enabled, you can also change the (vertical) ordering in the settings dialog...this also influences the scoring algorithm..

Release are a pretty complex thing...if you simply want to collect all sets you should think about deselecting all regions...

To sum it up...the current behaviour is correct....and highly depends on the ordering of the active regions...
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #13 on: 21 June 2015, 09:50 »

i think that the best and correct logic for dats with Regions must be this:

EXAMPLE
Code: [Select]
<game name="Soccer (USA)">
<release name="Soccer (USA)" region="USA"/>
...
<game name="Football (EUR)" cloneof="Soccer (USA)">
<release name="Soccer (EUR)" region="EUR"/>
...
<game name="Calcio (ITA)" cloneof="Soccer (USA)">
<release name="Calcio (ITA)" region="ITA"/>
...
<game name="Fußball (GER)" cloneof="Soccer (USA)">
<release name="Fußball (GER)" region="GER"/>
...
<game name="Fútbol (SPA)" cloneof="Soccer (USA)">
<release name="Fútbol (SPA)" region="SPA"/>

if i select Regions and i set this order: ITA, SPA, GER, EUR, USA

The Zip/Folder must be named: Calcio.zip
and it must contain this roms:
Calcio (ITA).n64
Fútbol (SPA).n64
Fußball (GER).n64
Football (EUR).n64
Soccer (USA).n64

if the game set don't have a ITA region version the result must be

Zip/Folder: Fútbol.zip
with this roms:
Fútbol (SPA).n64
Fußball (GER).n64
Football (EUR).n64
Soccer (USA).n64

---

if i select 1G1R

Code: [Select]
the game set has a game of the first region selected?
   YES - take this game and go to next set
   NO - the game set has a game of the second region selected?
         YES - take this game and go to next set
         NO - the game set has a game of the third region selected?
         .....
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #14 on: 21 June 2015, 10:30 »

here http://datomatic.no-intro.org/stuff/xml_details.txt another description on how things must be

Quote
===================
ROM MERGING SUPPORT
===================
Example:

·
·
·
WarioWare, Inc. - Minigame Mania (Europe) (En,Fr,De,Es,It)
   Made in Wario (Japan)
   Waliou Zhizao (China)
   WarioWare, Inc. - Mega Microgames! (USA)
   WarioWare, Inc. - Mega Microgames! (USA) (Beta)
Watashi no Makesalon (Japan)
Whac-A-Mole (USA)
Whistle! - Dai-37-kai Tokyo-to Chuugakkou Sougou Taiiku Soccer Taikai (Japan)
Who Wants to Be a Millionaire (Europe)
   Chi Vuol Essere Milionario (Italy)
   Qui Veut Gagner des Millions (France)
   Quiere Ser Millonario (Spain)
   Weekend Miljonairs (Netherlands)
   Wer wird Millionaer (Germany)
   Who Wants to Be a Millionaire (Australia)
·
·
·

The XML DAT can be used to merge a ROM collection. If user sets region preference
to

Spain > USA > Europe > Japan...

listed ROMs in the example above will be merged into 5 archives named:

WarioWare, Inc. - Mega Microgames!
Watashi no Makesalon (Japan)
Whac-A-Mole (USA)
Whistle! - Dai-37-kai Tokyo-to Chuugakkou Sougou Taiiku Soccer Taikai (Japan)
Quiere Ser Millonario

Note the "family" archives (with more than 1 ROM) are named using untagged title
from prefered region. Standard archives (single ROM) are named using title with
tags as usual. ROMs inside the archives will remain named as listed in the example
(no changes).

To merge:

In CM:
       1. Load DAT.
       2. Go to "Settings" panel and configure your ROM paths as usual. Now using
          the dropdown box select "Regions", click "Select All" and finally sort
          regions using the "Move Up/Down" buttons. Top of list has the highest
          priority.
       3. Go to "Scanner" tool. If you scan in "Unmerged Sets" mode, the P/C DAT
          works as the official No-Intro DAT. If you scan in "Merged Sets" mode,
          ROMs will be merged as described above, according to your "Regions"
          settings. However, it is recommended to merge using "Rebuilder" tool.

==========
1G1R LISTS
==========
1G1R lists are list containing only 1 member of each family of games, the one
matching the user's region preferences. If user sets region preference to

Spain > USA > Europe > Japan...

only 5 ROMs (vs 15) will appear on the 1G1R list

WarioWare, Inc. - Mega Microgames! (USA)
Watashi no Makesalon (Japan)
Whac-A-Mole (USA)
Whistle! - Dai-37-kai Tokyo-to Chuugakkou Sougou Taiiku Soccer Taikai (Japan)
Quiere Ser Millonario (Spain)


If you want to create an 1G1R list, you simply do the following:

In CM:
       1. Load DAT.
       2. Go to "Settings" panel and configure your ROM paths as usual. Now using
          the dropdown box select "Regions", click "Select All" and sort regions
          using the "Move Up/Down" buttons. Top of list has the highest priority.
          Finally click the "1G1R Mode" radio button.
       3. Go to "Scanner" tool. It will perform as if your were using a 1G1R DAT.
          You can use "Rebuilder" tool to create a 1G1R collection from your current
          one.
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #15 on: 21 June 2015, 10:33 »

reffered to No-Intro instruction i only change one thing:

the "family" archives (with more than 1 ROM) are named using untagged title
from prefered region. Standard archives (single ROM) are named using title with
tags as usual
untagged title. ROMs inside the archives will remain named as listed in the example
(no changes).

and in 1G1R by analogy:
ROM are named using untagged title
« Last Edit: 21 June 2015, 10:34 by pucci »
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #16 on: 21 June 2015, 15:13 »

ok, now i'm sure there's saome problem in ClrMAME routine

PART OF A DAT
Quote
   <game name="NBA Pro 98 (Europe)">
      <description>NBA Pro 98 (Europe)</description>
      <release name="NBA Pro 98 (Europe)" region="EUR"/>
      <rom name="NBA Pro 98 (Europe).n64" size="12582912" crc="7FABF1EA" md5="378F71037E3994A605B0060262C3AF6B" sha1="FD5131330C501858E6AD3128EE3D252C998A2EB5" status="verified"/>
   </game>
   <game name="NBA in the Zone '98 (Japan)" cloneof="NBA Pro 98 (Europe)">
      <description>NBA in the Zone '98 (Japan)</description>
      <release name="NBA in the Zone '98 (Japan)" region="JPN"/>
      <rom name="NBA in the Zone '98 (Japan).n64" size="12582912" crc="58B2150D" md5="12373D4569A3498D13F9274B2395D9BC" sha1="4FC0A8392ECE34F8A8C524640DCE2A1255C66BFC" status="verified"/>
   </game>
   <game name="NBA in the Zone '98 (USA)" cloneof="NBA Pro 98 (Europe)">
      <description>NBA in the Zone '98 (USA)</description>
      <release name="NBA in the Zone '98 (USA)" region="USA"/>
      <rom name="NBA in the Zone '98 (USA).n64" size="12582912" crc="2BB83C0E" md5="73334F6ADAB3F19C314C9F9CB2006E97" sha1="B0E5D3A7FC83EC86027F9E7EFDD876B7639E727C"/>
   </game>

SELECTED E ORDER OF REGION
USA --> EUR --> JAP

FIRST CHOSEN ROM: NBA Pro 98 (Europe)

other strange behavior:
- same option configuration and dat --> different warning in ClrMAME Pro (it seems as if the program had been a memory of previous options status) EXAMPLE: i set in REGIONS "USA --> EUR --> JAP" and i have warning, i change REGIONS "EUR --> USA --> JAP" no warning, i reset REGIONS "USA --> EUR --> JAP" no warning
- ClrMAME Pro crash during scan option (I do not remember any problem for so long that I use)

I am sure: there's some problem & broken logic in ClrMAME Pro REGIONS handle
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #17 on: 21 June 2015, 20:47 »

The regions algorithm hasn't changed since Logiqx introduced it decades ago....

As mentioned a different ordering influences the score for each set (since the score is calculated on the position of the found region) and of course this might results in not-identical setnames and cmpro won't show a prompt. Identical names for different sets will trigger the warning.

Regarding your "NBA Pro 98 (Europe)" example: FIRST CHOSEN ROM: NBA Pro 98 (Europe) is correct since the algorithm gives parent sets a slightly bigger score...

Yes...when reordering you don't get the warning again....(but when you restart cmpro you do...) I will check that one...
A crash shouldn't happen of course (maybe a sideeffect of the missing warning) ....try to figure that out...

Nobody says the algorithm is perfect....I guess you can always construct relationsships which will lead to weird effects....don't know if it's still available...but I can of course give out some pseudo c++ code for it....


well...ok...I already found out why you don't get the warning again...simply because the setname which causes the 1st prompt was renamed to "NBA in the Zone '98 (USA)_0" and that does not cause another warning when switched back...since internally it now uses the _0 name....a profile reload/restart will reset the name again....If you got conflicts you should reload the profile...

will look into the crash thingie....
« Last Edit: 21 June 2015, 21:25 by Roman »
Logged

pucci

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #18 on: 21 June 2015, 22:43 »

i checked my roms 2 times with Nintendo64 No-Intro dat and 1G1R option selected
The 2 test uses same regions order

The result of the two test is different (in some case the "chosing" algoritm select Eur instead of USA)

The 2 test i have done uses the same option, i don't have touched any selection but result are not the same

This thing is very strange and i think that ClrMAME have some sort of "state variabile" that remember previous action

Is not simple for me to explain, but i'm sure that there's some hidden bugs in Regions routine
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2276
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
Re: wrong error "double name" in datfile loading
« Reply #19 on: 22 June 2015, 06:39 »

Well, the "hidden bug" is that that renaming due to double setnames should be reversable direcly and via a reload or restart. Actually last night I saw that the crash is a sideeffect of this too...so assume this gets fixed (most likely tonight) and then you can do some test again.
Don't get me wrong, I highly appreciate your effort in testing this regional thing (which can be indeed confusing, especially when merging is also taken into account).
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.098 seconds with 21 queries.

anything