EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Missing ROMs but empty scan results  (Read 108 times)

joelkolb

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« on: 16 October 2020, 17:01 »

I am working with an older set, 0.160. I already had a complete set of 0.159 and used n 0.159->0.160 upgrade set with the rebuilder to get to 0.160. I did a scan afterwards to make sure everything is good. The statistics show that I'm not missing any sets, CHDs or samples and nothing needed to be fixed, but it shows that I'm missing 3 ROMs. The scan results window is completely empty so I have no idea what those ROMs are. It's driving me nuts. Is there any way to figure out which ROMs are missing?

Here's a screenshot:
« Last Edit: 16 October 2020, 17:02 by joelkolb »
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 90
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2827
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Re: Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« Reply #1 on: 16 October 2020, 19:12 »

First of all, don't care about stats. The only important thing is that the scan results tree is empty.

Use the latest nighly or official build, clean the cache in the profiler, check the following options and do a new scan.

You should first check if you don't hide anything and check all sets. All "you want to scan" options are enabled and all "check" options are enabled. Scanner->SetInformation->click "select all", in Scanner->Systems, select "all", in Scanner->Hash & CHD->Available Regions are all checked, in Scanner->Scan Results Tree->Context Menu->View->Hide fully missing sets should be disabled.
All these are default options, so unless you've changed them they should be ok.

If all of these natch your settings and you still get 3 missing in the stats it maybe something weird in the old Mame versions. There is no real reason to use anything but the current mame release.
« Last Edit: 16 October 2020, 19:23 by Roman »
Logged

joelkolb

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Re: Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« Reply #2 on: 17 October 2020, 17:16 »

You should first check if you don't hide anything and check all sets. All "you want to scan" options are enabled and all "check" options are enabled. Scanner->SetInformation->click "select all", in Scanner->Systems, select "all", in Scanner->Hash & CHD->Available Regions are all checked, in Scanner->Scan Results Tree->Context Menu->View->Hide fully missing sets should be disabled.

All my settings are just as you described except for "Scanner->SetInformation->click "select all"". I don't have a section called Set Information in the scanner. What am I missing?
Logged

joelkolb

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Re: Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« Reply #3 on: 17 October 2020, 23:12 »

I found the Set Information at the bottom of the Scan Results window. All sets were already selected.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 90
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2827
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Re: Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« Reply #4 on: 19 October 2020, 07:28 »

and now update to MAME .225 and don't use a 5.5 year old MAME version ;) or simply turn off stats.
Logged

joelkolb

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Re: Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« Reply #5 on: 20 October 2020, 01:56 »

At least I know I did everything right. Thanks for your help.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 90
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2827
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Re: Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« Reply #6 on: 20 October 2020, 07:12 »

I can prepare a version for you which logs the 3 ones into a textfile to check which weird things happened on your place...
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 90
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2827
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 86.0.4240.75 Chrome 86.0.4240.75
    • View Profile
Re: Missing ROMs but empty scan results
« Reply #7 on: 20 October 2020, 14:21 »

try https://mamedev.emulab.it/clrmamepro/binaries/cmproTest.7z

It creates a cmpro.log file in the cmpro main folder and lists all missing roms in there. Would be interesting to see which are listed there. The file is locked until you quit cmpro and emptied on startup.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.096 seconds with 23 queries.

anything