EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: wrong merging logic with new MAME 0.162 (MESS/MAME together) - another bug  (Read 9564 times)

Balteck

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile

I found this the bug while scanning with CLRMAME the Mame 0.162 sets stored in 2 paths (./roms for arcade and arcade CHDs, ./softlist with a lot of subfolders in it)
The DAT is created within CMP using MAME64.exe 0.162 with softlist option.
I'm using a full merged set (Option:"Hash Collision Name" and "forbid merge different systems").

The problem is that CMP tries to merge some Arcade CHDs with a softlist CHDs or a softlist CHD with another softlist CHD. For instance:

It wants to have Area51 CHDs all in the saturn softlist, but in the same time it gives me error because the sha1 doesn't match

or

It wants to merge shinsets PSX game with Shinsets pcecd game together with Hidsouls saturn game that is the parent of the shinsets saturn game

Another problem is that the scan window result gives me as missing sets any clone of softlist CHD games, but doesn't give me missing CHD (because I have them in the right parent folder)

And the last bug is about Tower of Cabin, that the rebuilder creates in the right way (a 7zip with the parent name and inside the 2 clones), but the scan Window result gives me error like if I miss them

I hope I explained in a good way and I attach the scan log to be more clear

https://mega.co.nz/#!qEVQQDYA!SpTmNdizD2WObmOpD0ybaRXK-NzU09BuHUwyNKszyrk


Thank you
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 8.0 Safari 8.0
    • View Profile

I'm on vacation....guess you have to wait at least a week for a detailed answer....

when you use software lists directly in combination with mame, you need to setup system default paths (within the systems dialog)....and the folders need to be unique....so a merge between different lists should actually not happen....of course there could be a bug in system assignment somewhere but for thiis I need to be back home....

it would be intersting to see your system dialog set and rompaths setup....there should be one rompath per list plus the one for mame..
Logged

Balteck

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile

I've Always used CMP with MESS and I hadn't any issue till now.
The system default path is roms folder for standard, mechanical, device and all BIOS and one unique folder for each softlist (psx for psx, saturn, for saturn, pcecd for PC-Engine CD, ecc), otherwise CMP gives me a warning that the same folder is used on more softlists.
In the PATH settings I have \roms and every softlist\folder (ex: softlist\32x, softlist\a800 and so on).

I can wait, no problem. I'm only hoping that CMP didn't merge roms and CHD in wrong way, moving a lot of files around the folders; but I've always activated the backup option and infact I found a lot of CHDs in backup and I think it will be easy to restore them in the right way.

Have a good vacancy!

Thank you very much
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 8.0 Safari 8.0
    • View Profile

well...good to hear that the setup seems to be ok...as mentioned,,,there could be a problem with software list assignment...some lists even share identical files...but for deeper checking I need to do some debugging,..pretty hard when the sourcecode is some hundred kilometers away.... :-)
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile

well...yes..there is an issue with chd detection when software lists and non-software lists share the same setname and got chds in them...(e.g. area51 known from MAME and area51 from saturn software list)....
Fixing this will take a while...I got it on my list...
In the meantime, you should use separate profiles to scan them...then you don't run into any trouble....
Logged

Balteck

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile

Hello!. I've tried the new version and all issues are disappeared!

Well done!
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.89 Chrome 44.0.2403.89
    • View Profile

thanks for retesting!
Logged

AMMalena

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 45.0.2454.85 Chrome 45.0.2454.85
    • View Profile

Would someone mind sharing with me how they're using MAME now with the MAME/MESS merger?

I'd hate to have to keep two copies of MAME (two directories) if it can co-exist with MESS ROM BIOSs and Software... but honestly, I can't even find one reliable source of what the MESS folder structure is supposed to be now that it's in MAME.  I have one Italian site that is somewhat helpful.

Thanks.
Logged

f205v

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 95
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 40.0 Firefox 40.0
    • View Profile
    • EMMA dumping team

Nothing has changed in respect to MAME.
Let's assume that the MAME.EXE executable is in D:\MAME
You will need to put your ROMs (former MAME roms + former MESS bios) into D:\MAME\ROMS
Your samples (former MAME samples + former MESS samples) into D:\MAME\SAMPLES
Your CHDs can stay in the ROMS subdir, each of them in its own subdir; or alternatively you can group all of them into D:\MAME\CHDS, and add this path to mame.ini
Regarding software: put them into D:\MAME\SOFTWARE each system in its own subdir.

This should be enough to make it run correctly.
Logged
-------------
ciao
f205v

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 45.0.2454.85 Chrome 45.0.2454.85
    • View Profile

BIOS-wise it's easy..well..more or less...the MESS BIOS will simply come with the MAME binary output....the only problem is you can't really separate them (e.g. like neogeo or others). There is no good indicator within the MAME listxml output which can identify a former MESS one...

Another story are software lists...actually...you may want to use them as separate profiles.
Logged

AMMalena

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 45.0.2454.85 Chrome 45.0.2454.85
    • View Profile

So apparently there will be no conflicts then.... pretty awesome.
Logged

Balteck

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.116 Chrome 52.0.2743.116
    • View Profile

Hi Roman, now the same bug re-appears.

I did a rom scan on last mame and I found Area51 CHDs deleted from ROM folder and softlist folders.
Again CLRMame Pro wants to merge Arcade + Softlist like a version of last year.

May you correct it again?

Thanks
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile

Hmm....interesting. I know that they recently renamed the area51 software list chd since it causes conflicts..
http://git.redump.net/mame/commit/?id=cd2e853167cd2325a588543cb265eaca6c8d385b

so...which MAME version are you using at the moment? Official .177?
Logged

oddi

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile

@Baltec which chd it's removed, post sha1 here.
I not have not problem with this chds, have problem when "re-tag" clone and cmpro try "move" chds to right folder ( if cmpro move chd to right place not removed empty chd folder )
I used full merge mode ,  my structure it's:

Mame CHDS:

area51\
area51.chd
area51t.chd


area51mx\
area51mx.chd

------------------------

Saturn SL sets:

area51e\
area 51 (t-18613g).chd
area51e.chd
sat-0721-area_51-usa.chd


That is
« Last Edit: 18 September 2016, 12:16 by oddi »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile

Ah...I think I might have broken it with a recent fix....

try this...

http://mamedev.emulab.it/clrmamepro/binaries/cmpro20160918.rar

and let me know if it works for you.
Logged

Balteck

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.116 Chrome 52.0.2743.116
    • View Profile

Hmm....interesting. I know that they recently renamed the area51 software list chd since it causes conflicts..
http://git.redump.net/mame/commit/?id=cd2e853167cd2325a588543cb265eaca6c8d385b

so...which MAME version are you using at the moment? Official .177?


I'm using official .177.
My folders are roms\area51 and softlist\saturn\area51 (not e because I'm running clrmame pro on previous set)

clrmame wants to "merge" arcade with saturn instead of rename saturn set as area51e

Now I will try your testing version (I hope is for me, not for @oddi)
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile

yes..it's for you..please test it...

I'm pretty sure that the recent 4.030 fix "unneeded chds are not showing up if nothing of the set exists" broke it.
Logged

oddi

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile

Quote
clrmame wants to "merge" arcade with saturn instead of rename saturn set as area51e

hmmm, strange behavior. Hope new cmp forum build fix that.

@Baltek: What mode u used - Split, full Merge mode ?
and your cmp settings
« Last Edit: 19 September 2016, 12:18 by oddi »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 78
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 53.0.2785.116 Chrome 53.0.2785.116
    • View Profile

Oddi....

pretty simple to repeat....
full merged sets, combined MAME with softwarelists (psx, saturn) import, sets: area51*.
As soon as it finds the first area51 folder it can get confused and moans about a standard area51 chd that it should be moved to saturn software list assigned folder....(or similar...depending on what it finds first)

But yes, the latest build should fix it.
Logged

oddi

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • OS:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 48.0 Firefox 48.0
    • View Profile

Ahhhh, if used import MAME+SL - have this problem, understand.
I used separated xml from github.
Tnx for explanation.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.086 seconds with 20 queries.

anything