EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: clrmamepro Crashes  (Read 16205 times)

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
clrmamepro Crashes
« on: 20 January 2014, 21:32 »

Haven't used clrmamepro in a few years so I spent some time trying to figure this out but no luck. Although I'm using Windows 8.1, I don't think that's the problem. I installed the 64 bit version of clrmamepro 4.012a in Program Files and set it to run as Administrator. I created a dat file from the mame.exe file, set my rom and samples paths, and ran the scanner without any of the fix options checked. The scan runs and creates a Scan Results list, which is what I was looking for. But at the last second I get a Windows dialog box which says "clrmamepro has stopped working" which of course closes everything. When I restart clrmamepro I have to start over with creating a dat file.

I uninstalled the 64 bit version, and installed the 32 bit version in Program Files (x86) instead but it also required me to run as Administrator... "Most likely you installed clrmame in an UAC protected folder or cmpro's tempfolder is locked. Please check if 'run as administrator' solves the problem or cleanup the tempfolder manually." I changed the setting, and ran the program but it does the exact same thing as the 64 bit version. Tried searching about the tempfolder but everything I find refers to a clrmame.ini file, which doesn't exist in my installation folder.

I'm thinking of installing an older version to see what happens but could really use some help on what the problem is. Thanks.


Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 112
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3284
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 7.0 Safari 7.0
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #1 on: 20 January 2014, 21:55 »

you dont need to run it as administrator, simply put it in a non uac-controlled folder (i.e. NOT 'c:\programs' or similar....

There are no know or reported crashes at the moment.

if it crashes for you after a scan, try to disable the show statistics option.
for statistics it loads a file with the stats layout....which might be not accessible due to uac protection...on the other hand this should not cause a crash...

so disable the option and generally run it from a non-uac folder....
Logged

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #2 on: 21 January 2014, 01:21 »

Disabling the show statistics option does not prevent the crash.

About running as Administrator, maybe I wasn't clear enough in my first post so let me try this...

I initially installed the "64 bit" version to "Program Files". I ran the program as Administrator per the instructions. It ran fine but constantly crashed at the end of the scan. I therefore uninstalled the 64 bit version.

I then installed the "32 bit" version to "Program Files (x86)". I understand I shouldn't need to run the program as Administrator, but unless I do the program won't run due to this error...

"Most likely you installed clrmame in an UAC protected folder or cmpro's tempfolder is locked. Please check if 'run as administrator' solves the problem or cleanup the tempfolder manually."

At this point, I apparently have two separate problems...

(1) I can't use the 32 bit version without running it as Administrator even though it's installed in the (x86) directory, and

(2) The program still crashes at the end of a scan.

I've had no other issues with my system and everything works flawlessly. As far as the 32 bit version requiring me to run as Administrator my bet is a poor uninstall of the 64 bit version.

Thanks

Logged

oxyandy

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 269
  • Operating System:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 25.0 Firefox 25.0
    • View Profile
    • .
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #3 on: 21 January 2014, 02:40 »

Quote
Roman Says: and generally run it from a non-uac folder.

So don't get the installer - get the ZIP archive of Roman's CMP
Extract that ZIP to a folder like
R:\CMP
Then try again.
Logged

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #4 on: 21 January 2014, 04:28 »

Uninstalled previous version. Downloaded ZIP version. Extracted contents to D:\CMP. No longer have to run as Administrator but it still crashed exactly as before. I noticed the last file in the display windows was a sample, so I unchecked Samples from the items to scan and it no longer crashes. Thought I might have a bad zip file in the samples folder but I checked and they all extract properly, so I'm not sure exactly what the problem is. If anyone has any ideas, let me know. Otherwise I'll remove them in groups until I can single out the problem. Thanks.
Logged

oxyandy

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 269
  • Operating System:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 25.0 Firefox 25.0
    • View Profile
    • .
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #5 on: 21 January 2014, 04:43 »

Quote
Thought I might have a bad zip file in the samples folder but I checked and they all extract properly
Actually I have a 7z archive which causes a crash in the latest CMP.
(took me a little while to identify 'exactly' too)
It exits similar to what you describe.
And... it too extracts just fine..
(Sorry Roman I have been meaning to send it to you)
I think it is a 'bad' date inside the archive. Yet is a crash CMP should catch rather than just 'crash & exit'

@65Cobra427SC
Make a copy of existing 'Samples Folder' AS IS
If there is a file there that 'is' causing the crash - Roman wants it ;)

Then:
Could you try "Torrent Zip" the contents of the original 'Samples Folder' .
This will standardise all the internal file dates & ensure the archives are physically different.

Another Note:
What happens if you untick Sets, ROMs & CHDs in CMP's Scanner options
And just try scanning 'Samples' ? AS IS..


EDIT:
Another idea maybe faster..
Get samples dat from here:
http://www.progettosnaps.net/samples_en.html
Load that in CMP & scan "Samples Folder" AS IS
AH - but dont let it fix anything - unless you have a copy of the folder first.
(don't want to loose the file (if it is a file causing the crash)
see if that causes a crash.
« Last Edit: 21 January 2014, 04:50 by oxyandy »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 112
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3284
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 32.0.1700.76 Chrome 32.0.1700.76
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #6 on: 21 January 2014, 08:05 »

65Cobra427SC, try to minimize the problem. If the crash happens at the end of a scan it's most likely more related to after-scan things like showing statistics than to bad rom/sample files. If you're able to repeat it with only some files, you can try to pack your cmpro folder and the samples folder files and try to send it to me (...upload it to a free file hoster or something)....

Generally I will check (when I find some more time) if the UAC protection thingie can be resolved easily..

oxyandy, you know the story....send the files in and I will check them :)
Logged

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #7 on: 21 January 2014, 17:39 »

By coincidence I just finished narrowing down the problem sample files and logged in to mention what oxyandy brought up. There are two sample files... 005 and wotwc... both extract and play without errors, but cause CMP to crash. Although the 005 samples are nothing but 44 byte silent sample files so I'm not sure what's up with that... and it looks like 005 isn't even used by Mame anymore. But yes, I agree they shouldn't cause CMP to crash. My next move will be to update my sample collection so thanks for the link.

No matter what I untick before running a scan, if Samples is ticked, it will crash. Let me see what I can find out about the file dates and report back.

Thanks. I really appreciate the info.




Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 112
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3284
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 32.0.1700.76 Chrome 32.0.1700.76
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #8 on: 21 January 2014, 17:58 »

can you please send me your (sample) files first.....otherwise I don't have a chance to find out what is causing the problem.

on  a side note, I've just made a scan on an UAC-protected folder (running cmpro 'as administrator'), no issues...
« Last Edit: 21 January 2014, 17:59 by Roman »
Logged

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #9 on: 21 January 2014, 18:30 »

Attached 005 and wotwc which cause CMP to crash. Thanks.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 112
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3284
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 32.0.1700.76 Chrome 32.0.1700.76
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #10 on: 21 January 2014, 19:43 »

thank you...I can repeat the crash now....so assume it gets fixed very soon

ah..ok...a typo caused it (some similar named array variables...ehehe...)...only used within the unneeded samples detection....nice finding....
« Last Edit: 21 January 2014, 19:59 by Roman »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 112
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3284
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 32.0.1700.76 Chrome 32.0.1700.76
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #11 on: 21 January 2014, 22:02 »

Logged

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #12 on: 22 January 2014, 01:30 »

No more scanning issues so just wanted to say thanks for the fix.


Logged

oxyandy

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 269
  • Operating System:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 25.0 Firefox 25.0
    • View Profile
    • .
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #13 on: 22 January 2014, 02:56 »

Hi Roman,
As requested here is that naughty 7z archive..
It was made by me several years ago..
No idea how it ended up with the bizarre file date :D
Checked just now with fresh cmp4012a & latest 'Sample' fix exe & dlls
Using Rebuilder with this file in source folder.
Still happens - click Rebuild = *CRASH*, any dat I believe..

*Contents are a unique hack/fix of a ROM I made.

@65Cobra427SC - Great work isolating the files !
« Last Edit: 22 January 2014, 03:00 by oxyandy »
Logged

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #14 on: 22 January 2014, 17:10 »

Seem to have another crash issue... during a rebuild... only this time the PC freezes. I'm able to move the mouse during this time, but nothing else... not even click on another window to bring it to the top. The only option was to shut off the PC with the power button. Same thing on second attempt but this time I realized CMP is still running so I let it finish (several hours) but the computer never recovers and I still have to use the power button.

I updated my system about 5 months ago... Gigabyte MB, Intel i7-3770K Ivy Bridge, 32GB ram, 3 TB and 2 TB hard drives,  and fresh install of Windows 8. No issues running Adobe Lightroom, Autodesk AutoCAD, or playing Diablo III for hours on end, so this surprises me. But if either of you happen to have any ideas or suggestions, I'd be interested in hearing them.

Thanks


Logged

oxyandy

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 269
  • Operating System:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 25.0 Firefox 25.0
    • View Profile
    • .
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #15 on: 22 January 2014, 17:29 »

No idea on lock-up, nor touched win8 ..yet..
that seems like an overly extended rebuild time period though.
Bit more details though please.
Source archive type ? 7z ?
Destination archive type ?
Quantity & total size of source archives ?
« Last Edit: 22 January 2014, 17:31 by oxyandy »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 112
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3284
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X Mac OS X
  • Browser:
  • Safari 7.0 Safari 7.0
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #16 on: 22 January 2014, 20:40 »

exactly...more information is needed....corrupt archives are pretty common and can cause all kind of weird effects....especially 7z or rar

so again, try to minimize the problem.....

the rebuilder is so heavily used and freezes or crashes have not been reported ( as long files are ok )


...not to forget there can be some rebuild operations which can take ages....e.g. if you archives in archives...or work with large solid archives...even fast PCs with lots of RAM might be working on maximum power for minutes....
« Last Edit: 22 January 2014, 21:27 by Roman »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 112
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3284
  • Operating System:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 32.0.1700.76 Chrome 32.0.1700.76
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #17 on: 22 January 2014, 21:08 »

so here's already the illegal date fix...

http://mamedev.emulab.it/clrmamepro/binaries/cmp20140122.rar
Logged

65Cobra427SC

  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 6.3 Windows NT 6.3
  • Browser:
  • Mozilla compatible Mozilla compatible
    • View Profile
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #18 on: 23 January 2014, 02:00 »

Source and destination files are standard zip files.

The length of time may have to do with the source files being Mame 0.139 non-merged sets being updated to Mame 0.150 split sets? I don't recall the size of the 0.139 rom folder (I have a backup on an external drive but can get it if you need to know) but the size of the 0.150 rom folder is 204 GB.

It's one thing to narrow down a problem among 74 samples but to narrow one down among 28,496 rom files is another story. Don't forget, it's Windows that locks up... CMP runs successfully to completion so there are no clues as to where the problem is. The best I can do is unzip all the roms and see if WinZip runs into any errors but if you have any other ideas, let me know.

Thanks




Logged

oxyandy

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 269
  • Operating System:
  • Windows XP Windows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 25.0 Firefox 25.0
    • View Profile
    • .
Re: clrmamepro Crashes
« Reply #19 on: 23 January 2014, 02:02 »

Thanks Roman,
Crash 'fix' confirmed..
CMP just got tougher  ;)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.125 seconds with 21 queries.