EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to Update CHD Version with CHDMan?  (Read 3080 times)

gh0stp1rate

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 116.0 Firefox 116.0
    • View Profile
How to Update CHD Version with CHDMan?
« on: 05 August 2023, 08:34 »

I have a complete 0.139u1 merged set with the only issue (or non-issue depending on the person) are 155+ version 4 CHD's which clrmamepro shows them mismatched which should be version 5. I used the mame64-0139u1.exe from which I downloaded from Arcade Database to merge and check a 0.139 set I downloaded from Internet Archive, which i had to find missing CHD's, ROM's and Samples to complete.

If I uncheck "List CHD version mismatches during scan" in Settings>Compressor>CHDMan the set is complete. But is there a way to update the CHD version with CHDMan? Because when I use pS CHDManFE to update them, clrmamepro will see them as unneeded and asks if I would like to remove them, but when I do, then they show up as missing in the scan results.

I also found a batch script over on Arcade Controls forums which is supposed to update the CHD, but after trying it out the version isn't changed at all and CHDMan basically just repacks it.
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3324
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 115.0.0.0 Chrome 115.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Update CHD Version with CHDMan?
« Reply #1 on: 05 August 2023, 20:53 »

If I'm not mistaken a current MAME chdman has no update function anymore and I doubt that all old chdfiles can be simply updated.
Since all chds are 'available' for the current MAME version (which is .257) you shouldn't have a problem finding them.
Logged

gh0stp1rate

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 116.0 Firefox 116.0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Update CHD Version with CHDMan?
« Reply #2 on: 06 August 2023, 07:30 »

I also have a complete merged 0.257 set as well. But when I transferred the CHD's in question over to my 0.139u1 set, clrmamepro still sees them as mismatched versions. But no issues when I scan my current set, which I found weird, which is why I was asking if there was a way to update them.
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3324
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 115.0.0.0 Chrome 115.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Update CHD Version with CHDMan?
« Reply #3 on: 06 August 2023, 10:04 »

I think there was a time where chds were simply redumped / reencoded with chdman instead of just being updated to a newer chdman version. For example to include some more metadata.....but hey...that was years ago...can't really remember.
Logged

gh0stp1rate

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 116.0 Firefox 116.0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Update CHD Version with CHDMan?
« Reply #4 on: 06 August 2023, 15:27 »

Would it be possible to get a version of clrmamepro that was around when 0.139 was released in August 2010? I would like to see if the mismatched version issue will come up with it.

EDIT: v3.135c?
« Last Edit: 06 August 2023, 15:36 by gh0stp1rate »
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3324
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 115.0.0.0 Chrome 115.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Update CHD Version with CHDMan?
« Reply #5 on: 06 August 2023, 18:36 »

Your problem is not related to cmpro. It's a question of old chds which can't be converted via chdman to match the current ones. You need to find the old chds or the new chds depending on which MAME version you want to check.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.137 seconds with 21 queries.