clrmamepro [English] > clrmame Discussion

Downloaded MAME Romset has 4800 files, after CLP 1700 files remained?

(1/5) > >>

RK_aus_S:
Yes, I'm quite new with ClrMamePro, and my questions are possibly silly (therfore the suitable avatar... ;-) - sorry for that in advance.

I've downloaded a MAME 0.78 romset with about 4800 zip files. I created a Profile with an appropriate DAT-File and scanned and rebuilded this romset source a few times with different settings. But no matter if I choose "Non-merged sets" or "Split sets"; after lettings CMP running over this 4800 files, only about 1715 files remained, the rest was moved to the backup folder of CMP. Fore sure I do something wrong or I have a misunderstandig. But where?

My goal is the following: meanwhile I have about 10 MAME 0.78 romsets, some with over 1000 zip files some with over 4000 zip files. I wish I could say "hey ClrMamePro, this are 10 directories with romsets - make ONE Non-merged romset for me and delete (backup) all the rest". Quite sure CMP is exctly for that, but I have no idea how to do that...

Regards
Roman

Roman:
1) current MAME is .206, .78 is about 15 years old...and full of outdated, partly bad rom dumps ...there is no need to use such an old version..and compared to today, most likely most of the stuff doesn't match anymore.
2) you don't really want to use non-merged sets. full or split merge is the way to go
3) the rebuilder is a file based operation, not a set based one. It takes a file from the source (or a file from an archive within the source), calculates a hash and compares that against the loaded database. If there is a match, it will add/create all found instances in the destination, using the correct naming there.
So if you think the rebuilder did not do its job correctly (which is unlikely), you better check which database is loaded or look at the rebuilder log to see what is skipped or rebuild....