EMULAB Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The new forum is online, hope you enjoy it!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MAME .267 and the new scanner  (Read 661 times)

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
MAME .267 and the new scanner
« on: 30 June 2024, 12:19 »

So new MAME is finally out....time to check the scanner on it... and yes, there are some things I need to look into.

Trivia (Questions Series 7, alt question ROM) [folder: gtsers7a - parent: gtsers1]
Here either cmpro or the new scanner complains about the name. The rom name ends with a "." which is not possible under Windows...cmpro removes it from the name, the new scanner seems to keep it, so you end in a rename loop if you scan with cmpro then with the new scanner and so on...I will fix that

cmpro also complains about some missing clone roms in cmv4zga, gtsers7a ,mspacmane , mspacmane2, pleiadsgmp and pacmanmr while the new scanner doesn't do that in its first run. So you may have the feeling everything is ok, while a 2nd scan reveals the "fixable but missing" ones. They also get fixed, but they should get fixed in the first run already OR it should be listed.

I will definetly check on those and what the reason for them is....so, if you find other things besides of these sets, let me know
« Last Edit: 30 June 2024, 12:21 by Roman »
Logged


Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #1 on: 01 July 2024, 06:20 »

ok...little update (no binary yet though)

- fixed the handling of illegal file characters as rom/disk/sample name, including a "." at the end. This is now aligned to old cmpro and the gtsers7a issue is gone

- some fixable but missing files don't appear or get fixed in a first scan run (cmv4zga etc...), found the issue...lousy "off by 1", it simply forgets to process one entry during a fix missing operation...


Will check some more things before I put out something new.....
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #2 on: 05 July 2024, 19:45 »

little peak for a possible new release somewhere next week...

added: ui: log and tree can be vertically resized individually now (split move possiblity between those 2 controls)
added: core: support more XML based datfiles
added: core: filter option supports prefix 'file:' to specify a file holding setnames used for filtering
fixed:   core: several obsolete "can't remove" errors based on not taking an in between rename into account
fixed:   core: rom/disk/sample names may contain illegal path characterss (incl. ending with .)
fixed:   core: fix-missing can skip one file from a batch and doesn't fix or report it


I also have some things on my wish list (unneeded masks, disable merge box when no parent/clone relationships, etc) which I also want to add.....after that I want to spend time on the profiler and bring scanner/rebuilder together in one app...so if you have something tiny and useful, speak now ;-)
Logged

nullz3

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 115.0 Firefox 115.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #3 on: 06 July 2024, 04:26 »

Thank you Roman for taking the time to work on this.   
Appreciate you implemented a feature I asked about.
Logged

carbonide2

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.15.7 Mac OS X 10.15.7
  • Browser:
  • Safari 17.5 Safari 17.5
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #4 on: 06 July 2024, 12:42 »

I wanted to post the following but it gets flagged as spam by the board software, so I'm posting the preview:
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 127.0 Firefox 127.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #5 on: 07 July 2024, 19:42 »

Normal for MAME
also see readme.md

"When loading an input file you might see some warnings. For a standard MAME
-listxml you e.g. see sample specific warnings. It's mainly about sample
relationships from machines to a sample parent machine which is not available
in the XML. Such sample-only sets are generated automatically so that the
assignment is correct again. Similar warnings exist for the use of samples
which aren't available in the sample parent set. This is also fixed internally."

You can ignore them.

cmpro also complains about them (see attached screenshot)
« Last Edit: 07 July 2024, 19:42 by Roman »
Logged

carbonide2

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Operating System:
  • Mac OS X 10.15.7 Mac OS X 10.15.7
  • Browser:
  • Safari 17.5 Safari 17.5
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #6 on: 08 July 2024, 18:17 »

Ah, that's the dialog I'm clicking away for years without realising. It's just that scanner puts those messages now in the results file.

Thanks Roman.
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #7 on: 16 July 2024, 20:55 »

Hello, I'm going to use the new scanner for the first time with MAME .267. Should I list all my software list path one by one or only the mame\software folder?
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #8 on: 17 July 2024, 07:40 »

You only need to specify the one (1) parent folder of the software lists...see attached screenshot
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #9 on: Yesterday at 14:23 »

Ok, I tried after a full romset scan with classic CMPro and I have a lot of missing rom or duplicated folder.
I attached a screenshot where I miss The Great Giana Sisters for C64 tape, and looking into the folder... I REALLY MISS IT!
How can it be that CMPro shows me a complete and no issue romset?

Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #10 on: Yesterday at 14:35 »

what is cmpro? ;-)

How should I answer this? It highly depends on how you configured cmpro to scan softwarelist.
There are countless options which might impact the result. If you create a profile for the c64 tape dat (mame hash folder) only and scan the c64 tape folder I guess it will also popup as missing in cmpro.
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #11 on: Yesterday at 15:20 »

These are my settings:
Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #12 on: Yesterday at 15:30 »

There can be more settings...like system default paths, assignment of rompaths and if they are active or not. And in the scanner context menu you got an option to hide fully missing sets...
...and there are exclude paths/unneeded masks/setinformtion->select sets enabled/disabled ones etc..etc..
As I said...too many factors....but worth checking is the context menu option and the system-default paths one....

Try a new single profile for the c64 tapes and scan....I bet missing ones turn up....single profiles were always prefered over a full -listsoftware import in cmpro...
....another reason to use the new one ;)
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 15:31 by Roman »
Logged

GDT

  • Member
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #13 on: Yesterday at 16:40 »

I double checked my clrmame settings and got all sets enabled and configured with right paths. I missed a lot of romsets inside various softwarelists (like c64, vgmplay, spectrum_cass...).
Very very strange.
And when I runned the new scanner the first time it deleted a lot of romsets and chds which was right for clrmame...

If you want I can send to you my settings file and mame.cmp file also.

BTW: how to scan arcade roms (not softwarelist) with new scanner? (always full merged).

Logged

Roman

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 118
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3329
  • Operating System:
  • Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 126.0.0.0 Chrome 126.0.0.0
    • View Profile
Re: MAME .267 and the new scanner
« Reply #14 on: Yesterday at 20:05 »

how to scan arcade roms? Well, the way everything can be scanned.

- Setup either a datfile in xml/exe input box (or in your specific case, use a mame.exe there with -listxml, or plain mame.exe which by default uses -listxml there)
- Setup one or more rompaths and (optionally) sample paths
- Select your merge mode

Normally that's it, unless you're one of the users which use specific patterns in their rompaths (e.g. you got the sets split by bios or something), in such a case you can define patterns.


Unfortunately I don't have the time to check your settings in old cmpro due to holidays.....maybe in August. Maybe setting up a new profile helps.
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 20:06 by Roman »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.147 seconds with 21 queries.